Home Contact Us Resources TBI Events Search Sitemap

News and Events

Contact Us

Geneva, Ontario County

Administration: (315) 789-6828
Children's Programs: (315) 789-6850

Canandaigua, Ontario County

Adult Programs: (585) 394-9510
Children's Programs: (585) 394-1190
Toll free: (866) 408-2550

More Contact Info

Mailing List

Sign up to receive communications from Happiness House

Sign Up Now

Staff Awards

Happiness House May 2013 Employee Recognition Event Award Recipients

An event to celebrate employees for another successful year at Happiness House took place in May 2013. The Mary Griswold Professional Service Award finalists and recipients were celebrated as well as the Years of Service Award recipients.

The Mary Griswold Professional Service Award is presented annually to Happiness House employees who in and through their work display the qualities and professionalism inherent in the agency Mission and Vision. Advocacy on behalf of people with disabilities and their families and continuous effort to improve the lives of people serviced by Happiness House are considered in selecting recipients for this award. This award is named in memory of Mary W. Griswold, a former member of the Happiness House Board of Directors.

Staff Award

The 2013 Recipients of the Mary Griswold Professional Service Award (from left)Heidi Haus, Jennifer Gruschow and Marjorie Rockwell.

Staff Award

Mary Griswold Professional Service Award Finalists nominated by their peers include (from left): Anna Spoor, Cathy Shane, Heidi Haus, Jessica McDonald, Kara Hooper, Margie Rockwell, Kristen Hartwell, Jenn Gruschow, Linda Meritt and Diane Kozar.

Staff Award

Lynn D’Amico, Associate Executive Director, congratulates Harlene Gilbert (center), Director of Evaluations and Psychological Services, with 30 Years of Service and Lydia Naegele (right), Group Teacher, with 25 Years of Service.

Staff Award

Celebrating 20 Years of Service (from left) Patricia Cunningham, CFO; Karen Miller, Physical Therapist; Jill Mundy, Autism Coordinator; and Jacqueline Schmit, Speech Language Pathologist.

Staff Award

Celebrating 15 Years of Service (from left) Lynne Colacino, Children’s Program Director; Sondra Scoins, Director of Waiver Services; Marie Havens, Teaching Assistant; Diane Crofoot, Teaching Assistant and Anne Battaglia, Human Resources Director.

Staff Award

10 Years of Service Award Recipients (from left): Jenn Gruschow, SDP Case Manager; Julie Bertram, TBI Program Specialist; Pam Adams, 1:1 Aide; Amy Hamlin, Special Education Teacher; Jamie Simon, Program Secretary and Darrell Whitbeck, Director of Clinical Services and Quality Assurance.

Staff Award

5 Years of Service Award Recipients (from left): Heidi Young, Occupational Therapist; Jennifer Woodhall, 1:1 Aide; Laura Wakley, Supervisor of Service Coordination; Rachel Peck, Speech Language Pathologist; Kristen Newman, SDP Program Assistant; Teri Lawson, School Psychologist; Kara Laquitara, Special Education Teacher; Katie Cornish, 1:1 Aide and Teacher’s Aide; Tom Shepard, TBI Program Specialist and Sonia Whitley, Residential Assistant.

2012 Cerebral Palsy Associations of NYS Annual Conference Awards

Congratulations to the following Happiness House employees who received awards at the 2012 Cerebral Palsy Associations of NYS Annual Conference in Saratoga in October 2012!

Three Happiness House employees received Certificates of Recognition at the Celebrate Staff Dinner. Beth Boehnke (pictured left) works as a Service Coordinator at the Canandaigua site and has been employed at Happiness House since 2004. Lisa Lincoln (also pictured) works as a TBI Program Specialist in Canandaigua and began working at Happiness House in 2000. Also receiving this award was Necebbia DeTaeye who is a Site Supervisor/Special Education Teacher employed at Happiness House since 2000.

Staff Award

Mary Walsh Boatfield, Executive Director at Happiness House since 2001, received the Daniel Wieder Award for Executive Leadership at the 2012 Cerebral Palsy Associations of NYS Annual Conference.

Staff Award

The classes of Happiness House teachers Jamie McKenna, Elementary Education Teacher and Anna Spoor, Special Education Teacher were named “Artist of the Year” by Cerebral Palsy Associations of New York State. Their collaborative work was entitled “Handprint Farm” and is featured on a limited edition poster containing additional pieces submitted by CP of NYS affiliates. Pictured from left are Anna Spoor, Mary Walsh Boatfield, Executive Director, Jamie McKenna and Eileen Gage, Chair, Happiness House Board of Directors.

Thirty-one Happiness House employees were recognized with Years of Service Awards ranging from 5 – 20 years of service at the Employee Recognition Event in May 2012.

Elizabeth J. Amidon Memorial School Award

Recipients Announced

Each year Happiness House accepts nominations for the Elizabeth J. Amidon Memorial Award. Nominees must be high school seniors who have overcome a challenge and who will be graduating from high school at the end of the school year. Eighteen students were recipients of the Amidon Award for the 2009-2010 school year, from the following schools: Bloomfield Central School, Geneva High School, Honeoye Central School, Honeoye Falls-Lima School, Lyons High School, Palmyra-Macedon Central, Manchester-Shortsville Central, Marcus Whitman High School, Marion High School, Mynderse Academy, Naples High School, Newark High School, Romulus Central, South Seneca High School, Victor Central, Waterloo High School, Wayne Central, Wayne Technical/Career.

Each student received a cash award and a certificate in recognition of his or her accomplishments.

Nominations should be submitted by the Director of Guidance from the school district to the Executive Director at Happiness House in the form of a letter of support stating:

  • Name of the nominee
  • Personal merits of the nominee
  • Brief summary of the student's contributions and accomplishments

The selection committee at Happiness House will base its recommendations on the information provided by the Director of Guidance from the school district. Notification of award recipients will be given to the Director of Guidance so that the presentation of the cash award and certificate may be made during the annual awards assembly or graduation.

To obtain additional information regarding the Amidon Award, please contact:

Marjorie Rockwell
Executive and Human Resources Assistantant
(315) 789-6828

731 Pre-emption Road
Geneva, Ontario County, NY 14456

Office Outlook Web Access
Paychex HR Online

5415 County Road 30
Canandaigua, Ontario County, NY 14424